Starting out

A writers journey is a long and winding road. Its been know to be fraught with loneliness, reclusiveness, hysteria, negativity, self-doubt…..

And hopefully all the good things like agents and publication and success!! Like the way it feels all warm and fuzzy inside to know you have finally finished your first MS. Or how it feels the first time you meet another writer and rejoice in knowing there are other crazy, hysterical, temperamental, creative wonderful people out there just like you? Or how it feels to go along for the ride when another writer finally makes their first big sale and you cry tears of joy just because?

Once you recognise there is a writer inside you waiting to be born, I can say without reservation – find your nearest writing community and join them. Even if the group does not write the same stuff you are working on. In my neck of the woods the only writing organisation is for romance. It took me almost a year to make the decision to join, and let me say I kicked myself for not joining sooner.

RWNZΒ is fabulous, consisting of all genres including romance. – so need I say I felt like a complete fool?Β I meet both published and unpubbed authors once a month at our Chapter meetings and let me just say what a wonderful bunch of ladies (and gentleman) they are. Now this might sound a bit like a soppy lovefest but you know what? I have met some wonderful people who have supported and encouraged me endlessly.

And I have found I have the knack for being supporting and encouragin right back. I have also found two crique partners who struck the right chord for me in terms of personality and the genre they write in. All that said, I confess I am still a tad bit reclusive.

Sometimes I like to retreat from the world to just write, emails, blogs and tweets are sometime far too much for my sensitivities… But I am getting better.Β  I have made the resolution – a blog a week to begin with. Wish me Luck!!

5 thoughts on “Starting out

  1. I have been writing all my life but just starting to admit that to myself. Also thinking of joining a local writer’s centre. My interest lies in personal narrative, memoir and nonfiction. Obviously I am a huge fan of these genres. Now if I can find a writing twin.. πŸ™‚

    1. It definitely is a journey many people take with a teeny bit of fear in their heart. I guess its that ‘what if I fail?’ fear that stalls most writers progress. So congrats on taking that first ‘most important’ step. It is a scary ride. Once you have that MS completed the whole rollercoaster of submissions, rejections, partial requests full requests, rewrites… okay, I’ll stop here for now πŸ™‚ Fortunately writers have an immense amount of advice out there- the internet, books and writers groups never fail to educate. All the best of luck on your journey and feel free to keep in touch if you have anything on your mind….

  2. So glad you’ve discovered our wonderful RWNZ organisation and chapter meetings. They’re fabulous!

    I couldn’t believe how supportive and friendly and giving the RWNZ Auckland people were when I went to my first meeting. I knew nothing! And the first conference just blew me away. Everyone was amazing.

    Nothing much has changed over the years. Lots of new faces, of course, but still that incredible support and eagerness to share what they’ve learned. I really hope I can make it to a meeting next week. I’ve really missed the opportunity to talk to people who “get” what this writing life is all about and don’t think I’m certifiable, LOL.

    1. Yeah! I do recall meeting this writer chick in a purple top and jeans who taught me what a long machiatto was all about. I can say I came away from that meeting on both a caffeine and a writing high. Only difference is the writers high still has me buzzin’.
      And RWNZ rocks! And I can’t wait for the 2011 conference- and there’s this gorgeous shimering sparkly dress I want to borrow from a certain writer friend- wonder if she would take pity on me πŸ˜›

  3. I am so proud of you T!
    Your blog is wonderful.
    Also impressed that you taking up the baton of doing a weekly blog.
    Great post! I especially loved:”Like the way it feels all warm and fuzzy inside to know you have finally finished your first MS. Or how it feels the first time you meet another writer and rejoice in knowing there are other crazy, hysterical, temperamental, creative wonderful people out there just like you?”
    I totally agree about joining a writing community and finding amazing crit partners who will laugh and cry and pull their hair out with you at the same time you do.
    One thing I have found about all the writing communities out there, whether the local ones or the online ones, is the complete solidarity and true / selfless friendship and support you find. It is the common theme in all the writing groups.
    Looking forward to your weekly blog posts!
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

