The Why’s have it!

Ever wonder why we constantly trip ourselves up with endless questions? Is lingering self-doubt stepping on your toes? Is perfection clouding your vision? Can’t see the story or the storyline?

Kim, my lovely critique partner has brought me to my senses (along with a little help from my steadfast friend Marissa). Why am I writing in the first place? Fame? Fortune?

Not at all. Success for me would be publication. But join any writer’s circle and you will be bombarded by an endless array of milestones to be reached, curveballs to be hit. First comes the agent, then comes the publisher, then comes success and happiness in droves.

Okay, so maybe it doesn’t always happen that way but its the recipe, its where we start this crazy journey, one that we are totally out of our minds to start of on in the first place.

So my why for today is: Why do I feel this way? My MS and I have been having a tough time of it lately. A bit of a see-saw ride to be honest: YA or not YA, school or no school, urban fantasy or romance or… or..

So you get my dilemma. Why is this MS being so distant? Was it something I said? Maybe my Nano project has driven a wedge between us? Truth be told, I am in doubt Central. I’ve messed with this MS too much, too many edits, too many conflicting opinions, to much everything.

And this is something to watch for: The spice has gone out of this relationship. Time to take a step back, and regroup. Some distance may put things into perspective.

I am not about to throw in the towel though. Just need a bit of time to breath, think, re-energise.

What have I learned?

Know your Story before you write it- if you don’t it will become something totally different and before long you won’t recognise it anymore.

Too many edits can mess with the beauty of the story as well as your head! Know when to put on the edit brakes. Don’t edit the passion and character out of your WIP. Its uniqueness is what will attract your type of reader.

Listen to your heart – for it shall direct the hand that holds the quill! You know what you want to write- so write it, from the heart, and tell your head to butt out until you are satisfied.

And lastly – surround yourself only with those who support you- lose the naysayers or you will soon find yourself believing their vitriol only because it is human nature to think the worst of oneself. Don’t! You are the last man standing in this battle.

Writing is creativity, passion, love. Leave the why’s out of it!

5 thoughts on “The Why’s have it!

  1. Preach it Sister!! Love this post hun…Thank you for the credit but you already knew it, you just needed someone to put it into perspective for you. Creativity is a hard taskmaster that is a sister to perfectionism. As artists of the written form, we want our work to be perfect in every way…and in our eyes it never is..sometimes we are the harshest critics….Your WIP is fantastic. I know that! Put some spice back into this relationship as you say. We write because we have to. There is now why to that. You are a writer. Know that, thrive in it, accept it.
    x
    Kim

  2. Great post. This is exactly why I’ve dropped my last attempt at a novel. I knew fifteen years ago when I first saw the historical information, that there was a story in it. I started in on it (I wrote a different novel during the interim) last fall and finally realized I had no clue. I didn’t know what the ending was. I thought I could deal with that because I AM a bit of a pantser. Then thanks to another blogger I realized, I’ll pants the heck out of the middle of a story, but I ALWAYS know how the story ends before I begin it. Always. So now I’m stepping away from it again. Maybe in my old age I’ll figure out what appeals to me and how to write it, what pov is needed why I don’t know what the ending is. Sigh.

    1. Hey Victoria
      It is a strange comfort to know there are other writers out there with similar issues. I think, though, that the solution is ‘Perfect Balance’. Balance between Plotter and Pantser – and it ain’t easy. A learning process that is so individual to each writer that we cannot copy/emulate/mimick any other writers methods, we just need to find the right methods for us.
      I have tried a few different methods for plotting and my NANO project went from 0 to 66000 in 3 weeks. No mean feat I tell ya especially when you think I’ve put 6 months hard yards into the first MS. But I found some inspiration with Christopher Vogler’s presentation of the Hero’s Journey at the RWNZ annual conference last year. He lays out a twelve step journey which I used as a skeleton to plot my NANO novel. Very different to how I went about writing my first novel – total pantser-style.
      I realised that my discomfort lay partly in my recognition that the two writing experiences were totally different even in terms of quality and quantity.
      But I am going to stick with it- finish it- write THE END and be happy.
      I wish you the best of luck with your WIP – have that break and start in again- lets hope you have the success that you deserve.
      cheers, Tee

Leave a Reply

