Plotting vs Pantsing

Each writer is special in their own way. Both in their style of writing and the method they choose to write.
Most people have the eternally romantic notion that all you need to do is sit down at your computer and the book will flow from brain to fingers to paper. Start with chapter 1 and finish at The End and that would be it?
And maybe there are those writers out there who do have this amazing skill. But I suspect they are plotting and pantsing in their own unique way without even realizing it, without learning it.
And as writers we’ve all heard of pantsers and plotters. So what are these creatures and which one are you?
A Pantser does it seat-of-the-pants style, no prep, no planning. Basically the book writes itself.
Plotters, on the other hand prepare. Story Arcs. Synopsis. Character sketch. Act 1, 2 & 3. Here the book is given it’s bare bones around which the writing actually happens.
Personal experience means I started out a panster, plotted for NANO and am officially 50/50. It’s what’s most comfortable.
So how do you write best? What works well for you and what doesn’t?

6 thoughts on “Plotting vs Pantsing

  1. I am very much an organic writer at heart. I sit down and write. Whenever I have planned a story, it goes a different way so now I just let the story take me along for the ride. For some of my WIPs that are research intensive I mind-map and on my characters I do a personality type test but that is about as much plotting as I do.
    -K

    1. Hey Kim my friend. That’s it exactly, though. There isn’t any right or wrong way to do it. Just what works best for the individual writer. To each his own … We just need to figure out if the tools work for or against us! Most of my plotting is centered on imagining the world and characters and story. Creating a timeline. From there I’m ready as soon as I am chomping at the bit, desperate to get the story out. Thanks for sharing. Xx Tee

      Sent from my iPod

    1. Hi there
      I must apologize- your comment was spammed so I didn’t see it until today. As for my sources- I will have to say its things I have picked up in discussions with the members of my Writing Org RWNZ, and the conference we held last year.
      Synopsis info I got from Savvy writer website, and YALITCHAT. Story Arcs and Acts I got from Christopher Voglers 12 step Hero’s Journey.
      Thinking of doing a blog on how the twelve steps help me prep my NANO WIP, so keep an eye out- maybe next week.
      Thanks for the comments, Cheers, Tee

Leave a Reply

