YA Indie Carnival – Happy Thanksgiving!

YA  writers and bloggers unite each week to share their thoughts, hopes and  dreams about what it’s like to go indie in today’s

publishing world.

Thanksgiving! A celebration which I have admire most of my life. A celebration which goes beyond the act of saying thank you for a new home and a new life. I watched as Twitter and Facebook has lit up like Christmas lights, with beautiful warm wishes between friends and lovers, parents and children. It’s actually quite a beautiful thing to see. That in a time of war and famine, of unrest and unhappiness, people are able to see the forest for the trees. That humanity can pause in their headlong dash toward money and success, to say thank you for what they have.

Sadly it is true that too often we ignore the things in life that we should be grateful for. And I love this day because it makes people stop and take stock. And what better way to celebrate our thanks than with Food!

In keeping with the tradition I shall take stock too – although sadly my stocktake will not include turkey or pumpkin pie.

My husband: I am thankful for his steadfast belief in me (even when I never had the confidence in myself to succeed in this crazy business), for his enduring love and support (Best. Husband. Ever!)

My kids: I am thankful for my beautiful daughters – a pair of teens who alternately drive me happily insane, and bring tears of joy my eyes. Their undying devotion to me and to my writing is so amazing that even if I didn’t believe I could, I’d darned well have to because they said so!

Health: I am thankful for the health of my family, especially daughter 2, who though healthy and happy now, has put on a brave face through more surgical procedures than any child should ever endure.

Dreams: I am thankful that my dream of authorship has come true – a dream that spans ones lifetime becomes ones life-force, it becomes the very thing that drives you, and I am so happy to say that I am living that dream.

Friends: I am thankful for my friends. Family is what and who you make it and I am glad to say I have amassed a group of amazing sisters, who give me courage, share my joys, and give the occasional kick as and when required.

Family: I am thankful for the rich lives led by those who are no longer with us, and for the health and happiness of those who are.

Perspective is so important in life. Death and disease visit us all at some point, but when you take a moment out of time you will see the glimmer of hope, the promise of joy in every second, even when it is steeped in grief or despair.

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!!

1. Laura A. H. Elliott author of Winnemucca & 13 on Halloween, Book 1 in the Teen Halloween Series 2. Bryna Butler, author Midnight Guardian series
3. Heather Self 4. T. R. Graves, Author of The Warrior Series
5. Suzy Turner, author of The Raven Saga 6. Darby Karchut, author of GRIFFIN RISING
7. Lexus Luke 8. PJ Hoover, Author of SOLSTICE, Blogging at ROOTS IN MYTH
9. Cheri Schmidt, author of the Fateful Trilogy 10. Rachel Coles, author of Into The Ruins, geek mom blog
11. K. C. Blake, author of Vampires Rule and Crushed 12. Patti Larsen, The Hunted series and The Hayle Coven series
13. Courtney Cole, author of The Bloodstone Saga 14. Amy Maurer Jones, Author of The Soul Quest Trilogy
15. Dani Snell’s Refracted Light Reviews 16. Fisher Amelie, author of The Understorey
17. M. Leighton, Blood Like Poison Series, Madly, The Reaping 18. Abbi Glines, author of Breathe and The Vincent Boys
19. Kimberly Kinrade, Bits of You & Pieces of Me, Forbidden Mind 20. Madeline Smoot, Missing, Summer Shorts, and The Girls
21. Cidney Swanson, author of Rippler 22. Nicole Williams, author of Eternal Eden, Falling Eden
23. Gwenn Wright, author of Filter 24. TG Ayer
25. Melissa Pearl, author of Golden Blood 26. YA Fantasy
Leave a Reply

