YA Indie Carnival: Cover Love

YA  writers and bloggers unite each week to share their thoughts, hopes and  dreams about what it’s like to go indie in today’s publishing world.   The future’s so bright, we built our own place to play.

This week we talk about Covers! A topic close to my heart as I am going through the process of cover design (happy dance…)

My top pick for cover is

WITCH HUNT by Patti Larsen

WITCH HUNT by Patti Larsen

It has all the elements of a perfect cover for Syd’s second story. I love the pentagram! The eye is mysterious and sexy without being creepy. The colours are simply HOT, and suits the way Patti kicks the heat up a notch FAMILY MAGIC, the first book in the series.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book is pure art. I have the hardcover version and I have to say there is nothing quite like holding a piece of art in your hands!

Cover Artist Pick

Angel_Oscuro_by_fick3r via DeviantArt

My third cover is a shout out to a talented artist – Daniel Priego. This piece is typical of what I would like for a cover.

So what do you love about Book Covers?

Are there as important as the book- or not so much?

Is there a cover that totally gives you the warm and fuzzies?

 

So who’s else is participating? Go on and visit the other Carnies for some Cover Luurv!

1. Laura A. H. Elliott author of Winnemucca & 13 on Halloween, Book 1 in the Teen Halloween Series 2. Bryna Butler, author Midnight Guardian series
3. Heather Self 4. T. R. Graves, Author of The Warrior Series
5. Suzy Turner, author of The Raven Saga 6. Darby Karchut, author of GRIFFIN RISING
7. Lexus Luke 8. PJ Hoover, Author of SOLSTICE, Blogging at ROOTS IN MYTH
9. Cheri Schmidt, author of the Fateful Trilogy 10. Rachel Coles, author of Into The Ruins, geek mom blog
11. K. C. Blake, author of Vampires Rule and Crushed 12. Patti Larsen, The Hunted series and The Hayle Coven series
13. Courtney Cole, author of The Bloodstone Saga 14. Amy Maurer Jones, Author of The Soul Quest Trilogy
15. Dani Snell’s Refracted Light Reviews 16. Fisher Amelie, author of The Understorey
17. M. Leighton, Blood Like Poison Series, Madly, The Reaping 18. Abbi Glines, author of Breathe and The Vincent Boys
19. Kimberly Kinrade, Bits of You & Pieces of Me, Forbidden Mind 20. Madeline Smoot, Missing, Summer Shorts, and The Girls
21. Cidney Swanson, author of Rippler 22. Gwenn Wright, author of Filter
23. TG Ayer 24. Melissa Pearl, author of Golden Blood
8 thoughts on “YA Indie Carnival: Cover Love

  1. Thank you, Tee! I adore Witch Hunt as well–Stephanie (Mooney) is so fantastic, I’m grateful to have her! and fantastic pic for the second–beautiful cover! You KNOW I love that pic you chose for your book…

    1. Patti, I think WITCH HUNT will be hard to top (for me personally). Let hope we can all achieve something close to thise gorgeous cover. Darn it, if you didn’t have it I’d have to write a magic story just so I can use it…. be careful… do not look away… you might soon be missing a cover… *grin

  2. Witch Hunt gets my vote. Great idea for writers to be aware of the impact of design. Witch Hunt’s cover get one’s attention on the book shelf.
    Love your blog Tee. Just got into WordPress. Trying to get it up and out. But I’ve got snow too.

    1. Hey Nanette! It’s a gorgeous cover AND a fabulous YA read too! As for WP, I’m still learning myself, crossing fingers I don’t stuff it up some day soon. Yay for the snow! Isn’t is festive?

    1. Julia, I popped over to your website coz I wanted to see more of Stephanies work and yup! Both covers are simply beautiful. It’s clear that she has a real talent and you guys are lucky to have her… 🙂

Leave a Reply

