Dead Radiance Playlist

Many storytellers use music to inspire their creativity, to support character development through the writing process, to set the mood of a scene allowing the right words to flow. On the other side of the coin are the readers who love to put music to the books they read, to imagine which song would be best for each heartbreak and each triumph their favourite characters experience.

I love to write to music. And I hate to write to music. It pretty much depends on the scene and my mood and probably even the moon – who knows! I use music when I feel the scene or the character needs a bit of backup. I only ever NEED music when I’m in dire need of drowning out the usual household cacophony – that’s when LP at full volume works wonders.
So, here it is:

The PLAYLIST for DEAD RADIANCE

1. Iridescent – Linkin Park

2. Bring Me To Life – Evanescence ft Linkin Park

3. Open up your eyes – Daughtry

4. Just a Kiss – Lady Antebellum

5. No ones listening – The Feelers

6. Hometown GloryAdele

7. My immortal – Evanescence

8. Weak and the wounded – The Feelers

9. No more sorrow – Linkin Park

10. Burning in the skies – Linkin Park

11. Trying to get by – The Feelers

10 thoughts on “Dead Radiance Playlist

  1. I’m distracted by lyrics, and by the urge to sing along to songs I know well, so I write best to Smooth Jazz and New Age — instrumentals only. I’ve always been a singer — can’t seem to help it — so songs with lyrics are death to my writing. 🙂

    1. Lane, I do agree that soothing music without words can be the best. I find I can tune out the words much of the time, it makes the world around me fade away so I can concentrate – white noise in my ears I guess… In saying that, there have been a few instances when I’ve been distracted from my writing to have LP screaming in my ear… I don’t complain as it reminds me I need to take the odd break and maybe eat something 🙂

    1. It’s never been intentional to write to music, but I love a great movie, and I love music and sometimes I do see my scenes as movie clips – and what better than to add a gorgeous backing track…

  2. Liking the Linkin Park choices here. I often put together a soundtrack for my novels – but I can’t write to it.

    Q – what’s up with the faux snowfall on all the WordPress sites? Not a fan here, sorry.

    1. Hey Beverly, I’d love to see some of your playlists. It’s fun to see what other authors put together as sounddracks.
      As for the snow, I think its a WP function that has been around for a year or so – must be getting more popular if you are seeing it often. Being from the southern hemisphere I guess it’s the whole ‘wanting what you can’t have’ syndrome – guilty as charged 🙂

Leave a Reply

