YA Indie Carnival – Books I’m Grateful for…

YA  writers and bloggers unite each week to share their thoughts, hopes and  dreams about what it’s like to go indie in today’s publishing world.

 WHISPERS by Dean Koontz- Don’t tell anyone but I think I read this book when I was eleven, probably not more than twelve years old. It sent shivers down my spine and opened the doors to my imagination and probably opened the doors to all the horrors that lay within my own mind.

Little known fact: I am terrified of horror movies. When I was little my mum had these cute cushions edged with a panel of lace. Yup, I watched Poltergeist through the lace on those cushions. 13, 18, 30 and now – it doesn’t matter. I still scare myself silly. I can read the scariest most terrifying novels ever written but give me a horror movie and I will be a senseless wreck for a good long while. Have you watched The Ring? ‘Nuf sed!

FIREBRAND by Marion Zimmer Bradley. Now I am a devotee of all things Ms Zimmer-Bradley, especially her Avalon Series. Pure masterpieces of fantasy I tell ya. But the one book that stayed with me, forever, was Firebrand. It may have been Kassandra herself and her spirit and her courage that impressed me, perhaps it was the setting of the Fall of Troy, perhaps it was the beautifully evocative writing. It didn’t matter then, and it doesn’t matter now.

It make no sense trying to dissect my love for this book. I just do. And perhaps its time for a  re-read. Don’t you just love plunging into an old favourite and revisiting all those amazing places and characters?

SERVANT OF THE BONES by Anne Rice. Boy can she write. Trust Anne Rice to make you forget where you are, who you are, and even if there is food on the stove or a knock at the door. I read this book in one sitting, and have it waiting on my shelf for whenever the urge takes me to pick it up again.

I adore the rest of Ms Rices’s books, Queen of the Damned and Taltos being my other two faves. Love them.

And lastly – the entire David Eddings series from the BELGARIAD to the MALLOREAN including the Prequels with Leigh Eddings. This series was truly my first love, the worlds it opened up to me, the doors it opened within my imagination, the ability to transport me to another world. Eddings was brilliant in his creation from Garion to Belgarath to Polgara to all the other characters major or minor. Just thinking about the books gives me a feeling of home, a pull to return to where I once spent hours of enjoyment, hours of daydreams.

And to round it all off, something that I saw this week that reminded me what it was that I loved about the spirit of books:

Honestly this made me want to cry. It just reminded me of a lifetime spent loving books, of earnestly writing poetry under the bed covers, and of reading late into the night and often through the night under said bed covers, of daydreams of working in and owning a bookstore and of maybe someday writing a book of my own… sniff.. I just adore this video!! Pretty much made my day!

Go on over and visit out other Carnies and check out their favourite books and whats inspired them…

1. Laura A. H. Elliott author of Winnemucca & 13 on Halloween, Book 1 in the Teen Halloween Series 2. Bryna Butler, author Midnight Guardian series
3. Heather Self 4. T. R. Graves, Author of The Warrior Series
5. Suzy Turner, author of The Raven Saga 6. Cheri Schmidt, author of the Fateful Trilogy
7. Rachel Coles, author of Into The Ruins, geek mom blog 8. K. C. Blake, author of Vampires Rule and Crushed
9. Patti Larsen, The Hunted series and The Hayle Coven series 10. Amy Maurer Jones, Author of The Soul Quest Trilogy
11. Dani Snell’s Refracted Light Reviews 12. Fisher Amelie, author of The Understorey
13. M. Leighton, Blood Like Poison Series, Madly, The Reaping 14. Kimberly Kinrade, Bits of You & Pieces of Me, Forbidden Mind
15. Madeline Smoot, Missing, Summer Shorts, and The Girls 16. Cidney Swanson, author of Rippler
17. Gwenn Wright, author of Filter 18. TG Ayer
19. Melissa Pearl, Author of The Time Spirit Trilogy 20. Heather M. White, author of The Destiny Saga
21. Roots in Myth, PJ Hoover 22. Courtney Cole Writes
11 thoughts on “YA Indie Carnival – Books I’m Grateful for…

  1. Ooh, I like this idea. I’m going to check out some of these links to get some reading suggestions. As if I need more. 😉 Ah, what am I saying? You can never have too many books to read.

    1. So true Kelly! I have a stack of TBR, a wishlist and even a dreamlist! Terrible, I know.. I’m thinking of snuggling with an old favourite today actually- just got to get some words in first!

Leave a Reply

