Writing Quirks and Must Haves

Until I thought about it I hadn’t realised that I do have a few ‘writing quirks’. Amazing what you figure out when you are forced to examine your process.

To start off with, I always need a good pen- my favourites is a LAMY Ballpoint – a gift from my dear friend Kim.

Because I am so easily distracted by emails, the Facebook and the Twitter, I prefer to go through them before I start writing, otherwise it will just bug me and mess with my concentration.

Part of my routine is to chat with my 2 writing buddies Patti and Cassie- we chat several times a day every day on Skype- have word wars and sometimes do butt-kicking duty

I must have my chap-stick right beside my keyboard; I hate having to get up and go look for it. – No, I’m not lazy, just focused!
A bottle of water- absolutely necessary. Gotta rehydrate people! Well, to be honest if I don’t have the bottle right in front of me, I will forget to drink water too- yup, its that bad!

I usually make my lunch when I prepare the family lunches every morning. So it’s all wrapped and ready to eat when lunchtime comes around. If I have to do more than unwrap and chew then I get annoyed and might not eat lunch at all- which is definitely a bad thing.

A pair of fingerless gloves in winter.

Writing music- During the day, when the house is empty I write without music, unless the neighbours are yelling or annoying me with their own loud music or screaming kids. Then I use my music to drown them out. Once my girls are home, and because my ‘study’ is located in my lounge, I drown out extraneous sounds by sticking my earphones in my ears. Of course, when I am writing an intensive action or emotional scene I listen to Linkin Park or Daughtry or Melody Gardot- whatever suits the scene.

Editing music –  When I am editing, my music preference is different. When I first started writing I used to listen to a playlist of all the Coldplay CD’s I owned. Now, for some reason, I always use that CD to edit to. It’s calming, and not intrusive enough to mess with my concentration while I edit.


I don’t snack while I write, amazing ideas come to me in the shower and I have an aversion to my treadmill which happens to occupy space in my study and which I just happen to not use on a daily basis. And that’s it as far as I can think of.

***

My Reading Addiction Blog Tour started 2nd July 2012 and goes through to 27th July 2012. Below are the blog stops that I have and will make – please drop by and join in the conversation :)

July 2 – Words I Write Crazy – Review/Excerpt
July 4 – Reader Girls – Review/Excerpt
July 5 – Cozie Corner – Review/Giveaway
July 5 – Embrace a Book – Review/Giveaway
July 6 – Nick’s Book Blog – Review/Interview
July 9 – Oh For The Love of Books – Review/Giveaway/Guest Post
July 11 – A Dream Within a Dream – Review/Giveaway
July 12 – Understanding Shae’s Story – Review/Giveaway
July 13 – Lisa is a Bookworm – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 15 – Passionate Book Diva’s – Review
July 15 – Some of my Favourite Books – Review/Interview and Giveaway
July 16 – Nazish Reads – Review/Giveaway
July 16 – Book-A-Holic – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 17 – For the Love of Film and Novels – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 18 – The Solitary Bookworm – Review/Excerpt
July 19 – Living Life: Hannah Style – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 20 – Natasja’s Book Blog – Review/Excerpt
July 23 – Readers Confession – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 23 – A Case of Reading Insomnia – Review/Giveaway/Guest Post
July 24 – Paulette’s Papers – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 24 – Waiting on Sunday to Drown – Review/Giveaway/Guest Post
July 25 – Bookishly Devoted – Review
July 26 – The Book Faery – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
July 27 – TE Garden of Books – Review/Giveaway
3 thoughts on “Writing Quirks and Must Haves

Leave a Reply

