Dictionary Rant: Word – Assoil

Forgive me. I just came across this word and I couldn’t help myself.

Perhaps it’s the voices of the monster in my head, but seriously, just look at that word! Is there anything in the word ‘Assoil’ that would even infer it’s actual meaning?

Okay, shall we begin with the first three letters – ASS. Now, the first picture slamming into my overfilled brain is that of the nether regions of something, umm… well the nether region of anything really, but you get the nether part so we shall proceed.
The second image fighting for space is, of course, the sad cousin of the donkey, and that kindly relates to anything stupid, silly, asinine, an idiot, a nincompoop … okay let’s stop there, before my poor highly amused head explodes…

Now on to the last four letters – SOIL. Right, so first image is dirt, sand, stuff underfoot you know, stuff on the ground and that takes us stamping over to the well related meaning of making something dirty. Yes, when something clean is made dirty it is ‘soiled’ isn’t it? Like, a shoe in horses p**p, or a nappy and babyp**p…. Ok I think you get where I’m going with this…

So given these two very easily understood connotations of the parts of the word assoil we are left with a conglomeration of images quite understandably related to nether regions, donkeys and p**p.

Then how in the name of the sweet universe can this word, Assoil, mean ‘To absolve; acquit; pardon’

Sigh … Rant over!

P.S.
I do hope you see fit to assoil me in this matter as I am but a mere student to the English language.

5 thoughts on “Dictionary Rant: Word – Assoil

  1. That was good. I’ve been getting new words from Wordsmith every day. I have litterally hundreds of words I’ll never use. I’ll look some of them up and share them with you.

Leave a Reply

