My Journey in Publishing- 16 months on

I was just wrapping a bunch of SKIN DEEP orders, getting ready to send out some signed book orders and I got into a contemplative mood. It’s been 16 months since I waded into publishing, since Dead Radiance was published, and I was griping (silently) that I hadn’t done well enough. Three books out in 16 months is a pretty good release rate but what bugs me is that Dead Chaos should have released in Feb but will likely only make it to my readers in Aug 2013. Plus Skin Deep was meant to release in Nov 2012 but only made it there 5 months later in late April 2013.

I know, I can hear a few of you going ‘But you’ve been through so much, stop being hard on yourself’, but you see I am always the taskmaster of myself. ย I told readers who were clamouring for DEAD CHAOS that it would release Feb 2013 and it didn’t. To me that’s just not acceptable.

Still I’m trying to be positive, looking forward to Fire reaching readers mid to late July. I’m deep in edits right now, the heaters warming my feet and its storming outside. Love rainy days โ€“the only thing missing is a roaring fire.

I’ve been treated by Miss 17. Just love TYPO!

2013-06-04 14.44.18

The cover for FIRE is well on its way to completion- I’m hoping to show it off in the next two weeks.

I’m still putting the finishing touches on Dead Chaos, keeping my fingers crossed that Valkyrie fans will like where the story is going. Fingers crossed, with editing going well and cover done on time, DEAD CHAOS should release mid August.

Plus there is Seals of Hades (UF/Paranormal) that needs one round of revisions before it’s off to my editor. As yet I can’t stick a date onto this novel (yeah I’m not making any promises lol)

And just as an aside- some work is being done on the second book in the DarkWorld series. I just couldnโ€™t help myself, I’ve fallen back in love with Kailin’s worlds and all the interesting characters in SKIN DEEP.

And just so I can remind myself that my books are actually REAL

2013-06-04 14.42.58

4 thoughts on “My Journey in Publishing- 16 months on

  1. Unfortunately LIFE doesn’t always let us meet our goals. You did the best you could and we’re so proud of you for getting the books out when you can. You are amazing and talented. Best of luck in the new writing.

Leave a Reply

