Fire, edits and Quickoffice Pro HD

It’s an overcast rainy day here in Auckland, been raining most of the night so it seems we are in for a very wet winter season. But yeah, if you live in Auckland you’re pretty much used to the rain.
A few minutes ago I was debating whether to read or to get back to my edits on Fire. Because I’m in recovery after a pretty bad 36 hour headache I really want to just curl up on the couch. With the fact that I recently downloaded Quickoffice Pro HD for my iPad I don’t have much of a choice at all. So now I’m curled up on the couch editing.

I pretty much can’t live without my ipad. Just this morning DH suggested I have it surgically attached to me … Lol, isn’t he just too funny?

About six months ago I went searching for an app that would allow me to edit on my iPad, making things a little more comfortable for me at the height of my edits. I discovered Cloudon and downloaded it happily. It’s clunky, and slow, but allowed me to use track changes so I could crit my CPs work and do my edits in bed, on the couch or at the coffee shop.

But on Wed I received an email from Cloudon thanking me for being part of their trial process (wish I’d known it was a trial??) and offering me the opportunity to use the track changes feature from now on for a price. $38.99 per year, about 4 bucks a week or just under $2 a day. What? Really? And they intended to begin charging users the very next day. Not much notice there guys…

So Cloudon put a serious kink in my plans as I was going away for a couple of days and intended to work mostly on my CPs manuscript which had a deadline (which I’d already missed but Mel so kindly gave me an extension. Isn’t she just awesome?)

So, fuming, I searched the iPad apps, found Quickoffice Pro HD and downloaded it immediately. Trigger happy, wasn’t I? Not really. With QO Pro HD at $24.99 for the app (For ever) common sense said I didn’t have much of a choice, duh! I happily paid for it, and will happily pay for upgrades in the future. Why should I (or anyone else) pay $38.99 per year for something we can pay $24.99 for outright. Did Cloudon not do their research? Market analysis? Maybe there is some reason they think they are justified in their charges but seriously, I do prefer the QO app. It’s neater, the track changes are easy to use and the program is not slow. Cloudon otoh, looks a lot like the actual Word doc but was slow to scroll, clunky, and reload took too much time.

20130609-121607.jpg

So, I’ve left Cloudon for something much better and easier to use.
What does this mean?
It means I no longer have a reason to not edit, simply because I can relax on the couch and edit. It also means I can work more… Haha…bet DH would love to hear me say that.

Now for something a little more fun… My lovely design consultant Leigh has been playing with title fonts of the Fire cover as it gets closer to full reveal.

20130609-115929.jpg

Maya is giving me a run for my money too. This book is coming along, and I’m having so much fun with gods and demons, magic and fight scenes. And, horror of horrors, I had to delete two chapters! But seriously it’s not bad at all. Doing so will tighten the manuscript and keep the story moving. (Remembers editors comments on moving the story along, and chuckles) Thank goodness I’m not the kind of writer who faints at the thought of killing her darlings.

I’m hoping to have all edits done by end of June with an early to mid July release. I may announce the release date when I do the full cover reveal *crosses fingers

Now, back to editing on the couch…

So tell me…
Do you use an iPad to work?
What apps do you find awesome to use?
Do you like to relax and work like me or are you a work is work and relax is relax kind of person?

One thought on “Fire, edits and Quickoffice Pro HD

Leave a Reply

