Writing in the face of Pain

Against the will of my body I am making progress on the edits of Fire. To say its been a struggle is a bit of an understatement. I know what it’s like to not be in the mood to write, but to be all fired up and ready to and be unable to write is frustration tenfold.

My daily choice is simple. Medication for pain which makes me drowsy and useless, as morphine does…lol. Or pain in all its debilitating glory which makes for decidedly slow editing and writing progress. I’ve manned up a good few times, refused the peace of pain relief and muddled through the first two rounds of my edits.

There’s a lot to do when you get your MS back from your editor and I hope I’m doing an acceptable job of it. I do up to three passes. One to accept easy fixes and suggestions. The second round is deeper, looking at suggestions that either didn’t sit right (insert ego here) or suggestions that means a change needs to be layered through or removed from the MS.

The last round is the final check, going deeper, looking at how the story works, how the prose works, and basically to make sure I like what it seeing. Usually the 3rd pass is quick. They were for my previous novels. Not so with Fire. And not for lack of trying.

I’m chugging along and I’ll get there. Here I have to say kudos to any writer who writes in the face of pain. Pain is debilitating and creativity destroying and emotionally taxing so hats of to all you amazing scribes out there creating and producing your stories in its of pain.

And if you aren’t a writer you still rock…life is tough and pain is an unwanted hurdle so if you have the strength to thumb your nose at debilitating pain then you’re simply awesome.

8 thoughts on “Writing in the face of Pain

  1. I commend your efforts while dealing with pain. I don’t know what kind of condition you have, but you do have my sympathies. I suffer Fibromyalgia and there are days it is excrutiating and incapacitating, so I can relate to what you are experiencing. I hope your pain eases soon. I’m pulling for you, keep up the great writing,.

      1. Alan, I suffer from Fibro, too, so can relate. I’m better in a warm climate, but there are still days that typing is beyond me. Tee, hoping they can fix that thyroid.

  2. Thinking of you always, and you are my hero for dealing with all this and still getting the book done. I know what it’s like to deal with pain on a daily basis and have to write through it. Sometimes it’s grit your teeth and sit there and others it’s write through the tears until you have to give up and go lie down. You are in my thoughts and prayers, dear friend. Hang in there and I wish you only the best possible book.

    Love, Deb

  3. T.G.

    Well the only positive thing is the pain gives you a realistic viewpoint from which to write. Get better soon.

    Aloha,

    Richard Sommery-Gade aka Nanakulikane

Leave a Reply

