A to Z Challenge – A is for Armor

I’ve elected to participate in the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. I know. I am crazy. 

But I have committed and hopefully I can keep up the posts. I’ve decided to post about my Valkyrie world since I’m currently writing the final book in that series and it will be easier for me to think about what to blog. I will try to present elements of the world without being too spoilerific πŸ˜‰

So today is the letter A which stands for ARMOR. (or Armour if you speak English English)

In the Valkyrie series, the warriors of Asgard all wear armor, and depending on whether they are Valkyries, Warriors (einherjar) or Ulfr (wolves), they all wear different styles of armor.

When not in battle, the Valkyries wear knee or ankle length silk dresses of varying colors, over which they use bronze or silver moulded breast plates, and arm braces, all carved with the snaking Norse designs. The Valkyries also wear head gear which I have depicted to look similar to this:

  
In my verion of Asgard, the warriors use black chainlink armor that is so finely woven it looks like fabric. After Bryn’s arrival it is discovered that the leaves of the legendary golden Glasir tree, when mixed with the metal used to make the armor, creates a Kevlar type protective quality. It is also supple, and very comfortable. With the new use of this new, almost impenetreable armor, Loki must find a more unique way to attack the warriors. And so he does.

And that I talk about in tomorrows post πŸ˜‰
The Valkyrie Novels – Norse Fantasy Series

Dead Radiance currently Free

Dead Embers

Dead Chaos

Dead Wrath

Dead Silence – Pre-Order

3 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – A is for Armor

Leave a Reply

