A to Z Challenge – C is for Creatures

As part of the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. I’m posting about my Valkyrie world. I will try to present elements of the world without being too spoilerific 😉

So today is the letter C which stands for CREATURES.

Within the world of the Valkyrie series I’ve used a number of different creatures. Bear in mind that I have taken a tiny bit of artistic licence in using the Norse mythological creatures in Bryn’s world.


Hugin and Munin are Odin’s two ravens. Hugin means ‘thought’ and Munin translated to ‘memory’. They are devoted to the All-Father and can be found scouring the globe for information to take back to Odin. So Odin will probably win every game of Trivial Pursuit he plays cos his general knowledge will be out of this world.


Geri & Freki ar Odin’s two wolves who follow him everywhere her goes. They protect him, keep him company and will even kill for him. Both their names means ‘ravenous’ or ‘greedy’ and they have the power of glamor, to make themselves invisible so that they don’t always freak people out. So if you see Odin, don’t make any sudden moves. Chances are Geri and Freki will make mincemeat out of you. 😉

Eight-legged Horses

Sleipnir is Odins’s steed, his personal means of transport.  The strangest part of Sleipnir’s birth is that he is the son of Loki. The story goes that the gods made a bet with a builder, and believing he is sure to win because of his special horse, Svaðilfari, who helped him construct buildings really fast. Loki took it upon himself  to ensure the horse did not complet the task in time. As part of his attempt to distract Svaðilfari, Loki turned himself into a female horse and ran into the woods. Svaðilfari gave chase and Loki kept him entertained. Said entertainment resulted in the birth of Sleipnir. So Loki is the only male god to have given birth to his own child.


Heidrun is the hardworking goat of Valhalla who produces the delicious and regenerative Mead for the warriors of Asgard. Bryn has taken a liking to the Mead and would likely find herself addicted to the stuff given half a chance. 

If you want to know a little more about Bryn’s world, check back tomorrow for the letter D for Dwarfs

For the rest of the alphabet see below:

A is for Armor

B is for Blood

The Valkyrie Novels – Norse Fantasy Series

Dead Radiance currently Free

Dead Embers

Dead Chaos

Dead Wrath

Dead Silence – Pre-Order


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Okay now I’m interested. I especially love the meanings behind the ravens’ names.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tee G Ayer says:

      Hey Zee! Glad I piqued your interest 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup, I picked up the first in the series off Amazon. It has now been added to my TBR pile… good luck lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you’ve built a wonderfully rich and detailed world for your series. Very intriguing. I’ve downloaded the first book and will undoubtedly be back for more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tee G Ayer says:

      Thanks so much Kern, and I do hope you enjoy it 🙂


  3. stu06bloc9 says:

    Hi, these are fascinating 🙂 look forward to learning more. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tee G Ayer says:

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s